Day Sixteen

Funny. We have been waking up to Tang!

Funny. We have been waking up to Tang!

So yesterday I went over $1.

I miscalculated at some point during the day, and ended up living in excess. I think it was the Tang. We were feeling nervous about our lack of vitamin C and figured that it’s better to get some from a powdered drink mix than none at all. However, yesterday is old news. I learned my lesson.

Today was difficult for me. I came home and really wanted to snack; on anything. I eyed the garbanzo beans. I considered the peanut butter cookies. I was tempted again by the Tang. Something. Anything. Kerri mentioned before that she couldn’t stop thinking about all the foods she wants to eat. I’m plagued by similar thoughts.

I really want to make a trip to Sipz (one of San Diego’s best vegetarian restaurants). I mentioned this to Kerri and she agreed. So I think that on October 1 we will be celebrating the end of this experiment, as well as World Vegetarian Day, by eating out. Our doctor told us to be careful the day after we end this; to not over do it with food. So I figure that I’ll eat about half of the food I’m served and take the rest home. The portions served in the United States are generally too large to begin with.

In addition to all the foods I wish to eat, I also miss working out. I really need to go running. I need to swim. I need to do something physical. Right now Kerri is at a yoga class, and I worry that she’s burning her already scarce amount of food fuel. I don’t have the calories to burn, and worry that I might pass out if I start my regular exercise routine. Plus, I lost another pound yesterday, and all I did besides teach was play MarioKart.

I don’t know how undernourished people manage to get by with such little food and still expend themselves doing hard labor. The other day at the library when I moved from a low shelf to a high shelf I could feel a rush to the head; it was a little disconcerting.

On a separate note, I called the Community Resource Center yesterday and they are in the middle of planning their large annual gala (where they raise a lot of their money), so they won’t be sending this project on to their donors because of the timing. I also called the ONE Campaign and they don’t accept donations from individuals. They recommended donating to one of their partner organizations. So the money we raise here will still go to the Community Resource Center, but we’ll have to rely on you to keep spreading the word about the project. So please, send this to ten people!

– Christopher

Daily Totals:

Breakfast: Oatmeal – 1 Slice of Toast w/ 1 TBSP Peanut Butter $0.15, 8 fluid oz. of Tang – $0.07 (Kerri had 4 oz.)

Lunch: PB & J – $0.31 (only 1 TBSP Peanut Butter) (Kerri only had half a sandwich-$0.21), 1/2 carrot -$0.06 (Kerri only), 1/2 orange $0.09

Dinner: Chana Masala – $0.25, Rice – $0.07

Desert: 1 Peanut Butter Cookie – $0.06 (Christopher only)(Kerri had 2 cookies)

Christopher Total: $1.00

Kerri Total: $0.99

Donation Total: $577

(THANK YOU FOR CONTINUING TO DONATE!)

NOTE: If you think what we’re doing is interesting, inspiring, or just plain nutty, consider SPONSORING our efforts. Simply enter in an amount, click “update total” and follow the prompting. If you don’t have PayPal, it will let you use a credit card. At the end of the of the month all proceeds will go to the Community Resource Center (here in Encinitas, CA). We will post evidence of donation at the end.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Day Sixteen

  1. Kelly Johnson

    Hi,
    I think what you’re doing is really interesting, but one question – how does $1 worth of food in this country compare to countries where they are actually living off $1 per day? I’m sure in many of those places people are hungry, but isn’t it possible they eat more for $1 than we can here or also produce some of their own food?

  2. AJ!

    I think what you guys are doing is fantastic. I am sorry the charity is not more in a position to help. Have you gotten the word to local news sources?

    I know in a past day you discussed the possibility that you guys had not quite thought through the ‘rules’ to accomodate all of the potential things that might come up (free food situations). But I am curious as to why you decided that every day was limited to a dollar. If a person were truly living on one dollar a day and only spent $.95, they would have 5 cents in their pocket that could be used on another day. Isn’t thaty realistic?

    Keep up the great work!

  3. Hi!

    I’m very inspired by you project! My name is Cameron and I’m from Carlsbad,CA. I’ve just heard about your project from my health teacher, Lynda Holeva and I just had to comment you about it! I was wondering though, how do you eat enough from each food group, and how do you just spend 1 dollar on all the food you’re getting? Email me back as soon as you can.

    Keep up the great work!

    P.S. my Email is nerocam@gmail.com and I’m an 11 year-old 5th grader.
    Bye!

  4. Marcia

    I’m with AJ on this…if I were doing this project (and I’ve done similar tests, but nowhere near this stringent), I would allow myself to “roll over” the unused money. You have days that are less than 70 cents!

  5. I find Kelly’s comment fairly ignorant. There are thousands of people in the US living off of one dollar a day or less. I’ve done it myself. I hope this projects brings hungry Americans to the forefront of discussions.

  6. James White

    What a great experiment, I’m loving reading about it.

    I haven’t read all the comments so this may have been said already – were you guys aware that tomatoes contain lots of vitamin C, and I read somewhere that most Westerners get 60% or more of their required vitamin C from – potatoes. Go figure. We really don’t have to panic about scurvy.

    Do you know Sarah at http://www.govegan.net? I guess you probably do.

    Niec work anyway.

    Jx

Leave a comment