Zucchinis

A small sample of our zucchini harvest.

A small sample of our zucchini harvest.

With the school year in full swing. I have little time to spend in my yard. Before I take off in the mornings I run outside to quickly water and see how many zucchinis have doubled in size overnight. We have had such an abundance that last we were able to have a much lower  grocery bill by eating zucchini in every meal. I am, however, excited to start learning about what will thrive in the fall and winter (as much of a winter as we have in San Diego) for my next round of planting. A trip to the garden store yesterday prompted an employee to come over to tell me about a class on cool weather plants that she will be teaching next Saturday morning. I am looking forward to it.

While I play in my garden,  people continue to  struggle with real food issues. On September 12th Norman Borlaug passed away. He was a scientist who created high-yield wheat that was to save the world from famine. However, the New York Times reports that despite his discovery,  and due several factors, the number of people living with hunger is larger than ever.

Meanwhile, the UN states that investing in agriculture alone is not going to solve hunger issues. There still remains for many people around the world a lack of access to food or the resources to grow their own.

It seems odd that in a world where there appears to be so much to eat, people can be hungry. During the dollar diet project we did not accept food that was not available to everyone and due to that we had to turn down several free meals that were available to us through our jobs or social events.

I was at a baby shower for a good friend yesterday and at the end, her mother, who had hosted the party, sent me home with a grocery bag full of quiche, pasta salad, fresh veggies, and chocolate cake. It was nice to not have to cook, but at the same time, I was confronted by the fact that I am not in need and  because of that, I have access to an abundance of freebies that others are shut out from.

Kerri

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Zucchinis

  1. Claudia

    Kerri,
    The Norman Borlaug you mentioned and linked to in NY Times is a relative of my friends and your parents’ friends here in Redding, Donna and Ned Bourlaug. Indeed, a small world.
    I’m continuing to read your blog and facebook entries.
    Saw your mom today…and had a dream that your dad was dressed in a gorilla suit and jumped in the swimming pool. Kind of sounds like something he might do. LOL

    Claudia

  2. Danger

    I love your blog. I really wish I didn’t have black thumbs; a garden sounds like so much fun!

  3. I keep thinking about that every time I go to some work sponsored event and there is food. The people eating are hardly ever in need. (although you never know) It also seems like the more high-powered an event is, the better the food. So the people that make the most where I work, get the best food. It makes me want to suggest that the next time, the food get served to people who really need it. Keep up the blogging, it makes people like me really think.

  4. Alicia Webster

    I agree. It is odd to receive freebies when one is not in need. My husband and I come from a large, extended family on both sides with most falling into the upper middle-class. We have chosen to live on a simpler scale, by subsisting on one salary(his) while I stay home to raise our three kids. We see ourselves as having more than enough, but our relatives feel sorry for us, and send boxes of assorted things constantly. We asked them not to, but they ignore us, so we donate everything that we receive to charity. But I digress…My point was that WE think that we are living high-on-the-hog, but because we don’t have cable, or a tv, or more than one car, and our kids dress in used clothes, our relatives think that we are poverty-stricken. Of course, they think that me and the kids are vegans because we can’t afford meat also, so clearly this type of thinking runs deep.

Leave a Reply

