Planting a Row

Summer is coming to an end, and on Monday, Christopher and I head back to school for prepping and meetings before the students join us the following week.

While we have had plenty of time for relaxation, we have also managed to stay busy. Between Christopher’s fellowship, the  trips we have taken, and gardening, we have been hard at work on our manuscript, which we are currently in the process of wrapping up. 

With the school year facing us, I am not only thinking about lesson plans, but I am also looking into what I can plant for the winter. Of course in San Diego, we have helpful weather year round. All of my plants are producing, and I still have one empty garden-bed left that I am waiting to get compost for. That last bed is going to have a slightly different purpose than the others. I am going to “plant a row” or two to donate to local food agencies. 

The Plant a Row for the Hungry campaign started in 1995 when a columnist in Anchorage, Alaska asked his readers to plant a row and donate the vegetables to a local soup kitchen. The idea was then introduced to the Garden Writer’s Association as a national program which has delivered fourteen million pounds of food to people in need in the last fifteen years. 

I have learned in the past few months that I love the feeling of growing my own food in my backyard. I am constantly checking on my plants and I bring each vegetable into Christopher and show it off as if it was a trophy. What I have already planted is plenty for us, and while I was having the beds put in the back yard, I may have been a bit ambitious. I have five good-sized spaces to work with and the one waiting for compost is the largest. I have more than enough space to plant food to share.

While my contribution will be small, according to the Garden Writers, “There are over 84 million households with a yard or garden in the U.S. If every gardener plants one extra row of vegetables and donates their surplus to local food agencies and soup kitchens, a significant impact can be made on reducing hunger.”

If you are a gardener, and you have the space, consider planting a row. 

Kerri

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

