April Food Day.

april-food-day-logo

This blog started as way for our family and friends to follow us as we embarked on a learning experiment to see if we could eat on a dollar a day. As we are both Social Justice teachers, part of this idea originated with our curiosity about issues related to poverty. Over the course of the experiment we raised $2300 for our local food pantry, the Community Resource Center.

Today, many bloggers are coming together to make a difference related to issues of hunger, and have named the day April Food Day. It seems fitting, considering that local food banks nationwide have seen a dramatic increase in the number of people looking for assistance. If you can, please consider donating to your local food bank or Feeding America.

In addition to issues of food stamp increases hitting headlines today as many states elevate assistance as the stimulus trickles in, the latest food recall  is also making citizens uneasy about government food safety procedures. While it boggles my mind that there are 15 government agencies that play a role in this process, I was happy to learn that scientists are looking for new ways to keep us safe.

On the sustainability front, the Crunchy Chicken blog is challenging people to eat “sustainably” on the dollar equivalent of food stamps for the month of April. While some may have the luxury of trying this out, many people are too busy learning how to cook now that times are tight. And this back-to-the-kitchen movement has helped strengthen kitchenware sales, and even pushed restaurants towards giving away food.

Enjoy April Food Day, and consider doing what you can to help others.

– Christopher

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “April Food Day.

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks🙂.

  2. Great site this onedollardietproject.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

  3. I applaud this experiment as it deserves some recognition from all of us that do not think twice about waste.

    I grew up in rural farm area and we treated food with the highest respect. I still grow a lot of my own fruits and vegetables, not just to save money but at least I know what I’m growing them in. Basically organic materials.

    I’m not one for our current governement regulations and their position on protecting our food sources.

    Great article, thanks and best of luck.

  4. Catherine

    This was very interesting reading. Congratulations on completing this important experiment. The U.S. food culture is a topic of concern for me. In fact, I posted a poll in my blog just yesterday asking readers for the main reason they don’t eat more healthily. I would love to ask your readers to go to http://silententry.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/foodbyte-2-you-want-to-eat-healthily-poll-whats-keeping-you/ and take the poll. I plan to continue addressing this issue in my blog and will use the results of the poll to steer the discussion. Thanks again for the great work.

  5. heavymetalcassettes

    Hey guys, fantastic blog. I started checking your sight fairly regularly a few months ago and it even finally inspired me to start my own blog! Im attempting to embrace technology. If you get a chance, check it out. http://heavymetalcassettes.wordpress.com/
    It’s basically a hodgepodge of ideas and personal interests ranging from minimalism to vegan stuff to early 90s death metal. Please offer any advice you may have, as I really don’t know quite what I’m doing yet. Hope all is well. Eben, Portland Oregon.

  6. Anonymous

    I loved reading about your journey and daily lives. But right now I’m pretty disgusted (that might sound too harsh) with how you are completely ignoring thousands of avid readers. It seems as though as soon as you had a book deal, your blog seriously suffered. I check everyday in hopes of some new tidbit or little story that makes me smile. And, to me, it seems like you’ve abandoned what you started and built for some cash (which is why I used the word disgusted). Hope the book makes you a dollar a day.

  7. excellent site this onedollardietproject.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

Leave a Reply

