Christopher Heads to East Africa.

pict0017

Last April I was lucky enough to be selected by Rotary International to head out on a Group Study Exchange to Kenya and Uganda. Over the past year our team of five teachers and one Rotary team leader have been meeting and preparing, and tomorrow we’ll be heading out. Our month-long journey will include a number of stops at schools and rotary service projects (wells, clinics, etc.) and hopefully things will go smoothly.

I will do my best to post food-related thoughts from the other side of the world during the next month, but we’re not sure what our situation will be like. It is unlikely that we’ll have access to internet in the slums of Nairobi or in the villages outside of the cities, but I will do what I can.

Kerri may post now and then, so keep checking back for her updates and insights.

If you want to keep up with our team click the link “Christopher in Africa” on the right hand side of this page.

To Africa!

– Christopher

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Christopher Heads to East Africa.

  1. great luck to you! keep us posted.

  2. RG

    Not sure when you’ll see this, but just ran across your site via the ny times article. Followed a bunch of the food-stamps level buying a few years ago, when I was consciously moving my food spending up a notch.

    And I recall a time, a decade ago, when I consciously lived on $1/day. Lots of free food was involved, and of course that may be $1.50 in 2008 dollars. I cooked usually, and made extensive use of grocery store deals. Some key aids: 1. 10 pounds of potatos for $1. 2. reduced produce: often 33 cents a pound. 3. bulk rice and beans and oatmeal 4. lentils are extremely easy to sprout; relatives in India eat sprouted mung beans daily.

    Some thoughts:
    1. $1/day buys a lot more food outside the U.S. Money doesn’t translate directly.

    2. Junk food is not cheap; bulk foods are. I did a cost/calorie analysis, and things like peanut butter, rice, and already prepared tortillas were in the lowest. If I recall, oatmeal and cornmeal dropped even lower.

    3. My multiyear experiment included large amounts of free food; cheese and bread regularly. Combined with shopping for deals (33 cent can of tuna,$5 for a 10 pound ham) this is more do-able than you expect.

    4. I feel no honor in cutting back. Healthy food is worth spending money on. Convenience food is worth the time I save. I still spend less than I could, watch for deals etc. but food is a cheap luxury.

  3. julie

    I look forward to your trip and your safe return. For my own selfish motives, teach us more when you come home. Julie

  4. Maira Memmi

    Hi Mr. Greenslate!
    It’s Maira, I just want to say thank you for everything you have taught me. You are truly an inspiration. If Social Justice was a major I would major in it!
    I’m currently taking an intercultural communications class, I took because it resembled your class, minus the animal rights. I really miss your teachings and I know that there is so much more I can learn from you. Thank god for the internet, I can research you and learn from you from your blogs and experiments. I am actually showing your website to my class and showing them the video of you and Kerry on Fox News.

    You have taught me so much and I couldn’t possibly explain how grateful I am that I have met you. Thank you!
    P.S. I hope you have a nice trip in Africa and hope to hear more great things from you!
    Always,
    Your admiring student,
    Maira

  5. Aunt Stephanie

    Hi Chris!
    Wow! I am very impressed with your passions. You have always been a curious, compassionate, and somewhat cynical individual. I look forward to seeing what opportunities you investigate and the ensuing gifts you’ll share.
    I have to say that the “Dollar-a-Day” mission has not been your first experiment with food. I seem to remember a little incident with an Altoid and my daughter’s hamster and then there was the lobbing of grapefruit from your grandfather’s yard down the bank and across the street to a neighbor’s yard.đŸ™‚
    I do love you Chris and I wish you and Kerry the best in all your endeavors!

Leave a Reply

