Day Twenty Five

I now know beans.

I now know beans.

We finally had our friend, Dave, over for dinner. I was about nervous having him over because I wanted to make sure that I would still get enough to eat. Fortunately, I did. He said he was surprised by the portion we were able to feed him. We had a typical dinner of bean, rice, and potato burritos. That was one of the least expensive meals we could make and still afford for all of us to eat. I do, however, feel that I need to clarify that when we say burrito, it is really like a taco or taco sized burrito. These are not huge, Rico’s-sized-can-feed-you-for-two-days burritos.

As we calculated our costs, it was exciting when we realized that we could afford to have cookies. Laughter came into our mostly serious conversation as we recounted for Dave the Great Cookie War of 2008. I still think I was right.

Having company for dinner made me think about how much food plays a role in social gatherings. A couple times I have turned down offers to go out for coffee with friends of mine. I realize that I could go for the conversation, but I would have felt awkward staring longingly at their cups. Last night at the lecture there was a reception before and a reception afterwards, both had food and drinks. In the reception afterwards there were plates piled high with fancy food items. It was more than just appetizers, it looked like enough food for everyone to have a full meal. We did not stick around.

Counting down the days,

Kerri

Daily Totals:

Breakfast: Oatmeal – $0.05 (less than a cup cooked – Christopher only)

Lunch: 1 Bowl of Southwestern Soup – $0.18

Dinner: 2 Bean, potato, & Rice Burritos – $0.39 ( Beans – $0.07, potato – $0.10, Rice -$0.14, Tortillas – $0.08)

Dessert: 1 Peanut butter cookie – $0.06, 1/4 cup Tang – $0.02 (Dave only)

Christopher Total: $1.00 ($0.23 portion of Dave’s total)

Kerri Total: $0.99 ($0.24 portion of Dave’s total)

Dave’s Total:$0.47

Donation Total: $717

(THANK YOU FOR CONTINUING TO DONATE!)

NOTE: If you think what we’re doing is interesting, inspiring, or just plain nutty, consider SPONSORING our efforts. Simply enter in an amount, click “update total” and follow the prompting. If you don’t have PayPal, it will let you use a credit card. At the end of the of the month all proceeds will go to the Community Resource Center (here in Encinitas, CA). We will post evidence of donations at the end.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Day Twenty Five

  1. Wondering

    Why didn’t you eat the free food at the reception?

  2. 3GirlsMama

    I was wondering how this would go! Our 7yo is very concerned about the hungry, so the subject comes up a lot. We’ve talked about the Bedouin culture, and how they will feed any traveller, etc. She asked if they were rich and then answered herself, “Probably not”. I wondered how she came to this conclusion…

  3. Mariam

    3GirlsMama, good point. It’s like the poorer the people, the more generous.

    >>”…because I wanted to make sure that *I* would still get enough to eat.”

    When I read this, I thought it was a typo and should have read “he” would get enough.

    Sorry, but if it had been me, I’d have faked a stomachache or something in order to give the guest my portion without making him feel guilty. I spent nearly a year in a situation where I could eat only one meal (a large one, though) every other day, so yes I do understand what “hungry” means and how lack of proper nutrition can ruin your health. But a guest is a guest!

    But the Bedouin are not unusual; they’re quite normal. I’ve traveled a (little) bit and the U.S. was the only place where I would eat a lot before going to visit someone because I knew they wouldn’t offer any food. It’s just a cultural quirk or maybe they expect you to ask. Everywhere else I’ve been they try to stuff their guests with food.

    That said, I’d have eaten the free food…😉

  4. Rox

    This is a comment to Mariam about people in the US not offering food to guests:

    I grew up in the South. I went to college (1982) in Massachusetts. Our chorale group did a Spring Break tour through New England one year and the South the following year. In New England we were fed cookies (if we were lucky) after the concert.

    I told all my classmates that they would find it to be different the following year on the southern tour. I was proved correct: After a concert in the South, we had a bountiful FEAST awaiting us. Those ladies can flat-out COOK!

    Interestingly, the poverty map showed the higher levels of poverty to be in the South.

    My story is certainly not scientific proof, but my experience seams to bear out the “affluence tends toward more stinginess” theory!

  5. katiyah

    In my experience the poorer regions of the country are more famous for their hospitality which includs food. The more affluent you are, one is always trying to keep your money so frugal and/or stingy can be the name of the game.
    Read The Millionaire Next Door-it can be an eye opener for some.
    In my experience in life, the poorer seem to be the most generous. However, I have met a wide spectrum of people in life and I have met some rich people who take generosity to an excess.

Leave a Reply

