Day Twenty Three

Tomorrow I will sleep like Mrs. B

Tomorrow I will sleep like Mrs. B

I don’t feel well today. It is not necessarily from our diet; I have had sick, sneezy students for the past two weeks. I woke up this morning with a sore throat and a headache that seemed to get worse as the day went on. It is 7:20 right now, I feel achy and all I want to do is go to sleep (don’t worry I am not looking for sympathy, I am just letting you know how I feel).

I am staying home from school tomorrow so that I can get some rest and try to get better. With limited fuel, I don’t want to run myself down too much.

With almost every action, I have been comparing my situation to those in need, or my perception of those in need. I am taking a sick day from work and it is a pain to make sub plans. I was at school late tonight making sure everything was in place so that I can take a day to get well. However, I will not be docked any pay or have a risk of losing my job because I do not go in tomorrow. This is not the case for many working poor around the world.

That is all for tonight. I don’t have much to say.

Kerri

Daily Totals:

Breakfast: Oatmeal – $0.05 (less than a cup cooked), 1/2 piece of toast with peanut butter – $0.10 (Christopher only), 1/2 cup of Tang – $0.04 (Kerri only)

Lunch: 1 Bowl of Broccoli Potato Soup – $0.27

Dinner: 2 Bean, Rice, & potato Burritos – $0.39 ( Beans – $0.07, Rice -$0.14, Potato – $0.10, Tortillas – $0.08), 1 extra tortilla – $0.04

Dessert: 1 cup Tang – $0.07

Christopher Total: $0.88

Kerri Total: $0.82

Donation Total: $702

(THANK YOU FOR CONTINUING TO DONATE!)

NOTE: If you think what we’re doing is interesting, inspiring, or just plain nutty, consider SPONSORING our efforts. Simply enter in an amount, click “update total” and follow the prompting. If you don’t have PayPal, it will let you use a credit card. At the end of the of the month all proceeds will go to the Community Resource Center (here in Encinitas, CA). We will post evidence of donations at the end.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day Twenty Three

  1. Lauren

    what a cute kitty!
    and i also hope you feel better

  2. Sara

    Oh, yes, the infamous “no work, no pay”. All my jobs have been like that.

    One job, I was getting paid 5.50/hr, and WORKED MYSELF OUT OF WORK. I worked so hard and so fast, I cleared the floor of further work. I was told to take a 4-day weekend, which I didn’t get paid for. I bet they loved that, because they saved money, but I lost on 2 days worth of earnings.

    Needless to say, having been punished for doing a job well done, I slowed down and didn’t push myself again.

Leave a Reply

