Day Eleven

Today was the first day that I really felt like asking, “Aren’t we done yet?”

We had a staff meeting today at my school and I purposely waited until right before the meeting started to go to the library. The reason for this was that teachers were served lunch. It is not usually vegan, but I usually go to spend time with my colleagues. Instead, I sat alone in my classroom and ate leftover spaghetti (don’t feel too sorry for me; I had work to do anyway). When I got to the library and the meeting started, people were just finishing lunch and still had their plates in front of them. The were having burritos. It might seem that I would be tired of beans and rice, but I was drooling a bit. I even considered trying to sneak the remnants pico de gallo off of my friend Dave’s plate… but that would have been weird.

At the end of the meeting the remaining food was being packed away and I thought about grabbing a bucket of salsa and chips and running for the door. I didn’t. I have been very good, but I really want to cheat. I keep thinking about all of the things I want to eat when this is finished. Staying true to my claim that I love Mexican food, a burrito from Rico’s, my favorite taco shop, is on the list. I also want a salad with lots of dressing. I would also love veggie spring rolls filled with sprouts, cucumber, lettuce and tofu. I also want a Boca Burger dripping with ketchup, mustard, onion, and lettuce (can you tell I have not had dinner yet?).

It makes me realize how wasteful have been in the past. I have some weird issues with food. I worked in a grocery store for 6 years and I know that food lasts after its sell by date. Even with that knowledge is in my head, I am usually very suspicious of anything that I believe may have lingered in the depths of the fridge beyond its date. Christopher on the other hand eats anything and is constantly telling me, “it’s still good.” When we eat out I usually bring home food I did not finish, but if I don’t eat it the very next day, chances are it will be thrown out or Christopher will get to it.

My thoughts on “good” food have altered, but I am still a bit wimpy when it comes to scavenging for food. The other day I saw an apple on the ground; it was probably thrown out by a student. I considered picking it up to see if it had a bite taken out of it, or if it was still “good,” but in the end I did not. Another day I watched a student throw away cucumber sticks and cherry tomatoes. I wanted to take up Christopher’s cry of “it’s still good!” and dive in after it, but I didn’t.

I might next time.

Kerri

Daily Totals:

Breakfast: 1 Cup cooked oatmeal w/ 1 TSP margarine – $0.09, store-bought bread w/ one tablespoon of PB-$0.10 (Christopher only)

Lunch:Spaghetti – $0.30 (Kerri only), popped popcorn – $0.07 (Kerri only) PB&J on store-bought bread with only 1Tbsp of pb -$0.20, 2 slices pizza-$0.16 (Christopher only)

Dinner: Homemade Wheat Gluten Steak Strips – $0.20, 1/8 lb. Frozen Broccoli – $0.13, 2 Cups cooked white rice – $0.11, Potato fried in leftover seitan oil-$0.10 (Kerri only)

Christopher Total: $0.99

Kerri Total: $1.00

Donation Total: $189

(THANK YOU FOR CONTINUING TO DONATE!)

NOTE: If you think what we’re doing is interesting, inspiring, or just plain nutty, consider SPONSORING our efforts. Simply enter in an amount, click “update total” and follow the prompting. If you don’t have PayPal, it will let you use a credit card. At the end of the of the month all proceeds will go to the Community Resource Center (here in Encinitas, CA) and/or the ONE campaign. We will post evidence of donations at the end.

k’

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Day Eleven

  1. Karin

    Wow….I just got back from spending $200 on dinner, and here you are struggling to eat on $1. It really hit home for me tonight so I donated the same amount I spent to your cause. More power to you….showing us a) how grateful we should be for what we have, and b) how wasteful and gluttonous we are is really quite a gift.

    Hang in there!

  2. Andrew

    Nice job! I know that I wouldn’t have the discipline to keep this up for more than a day. Would it be against the rules for me to bring you an apple?

  3. Rob

    My first wife and I lived this experiment for several months 36 years ago while living in Sweden (which was 4 times more expensive than the US back then). I’ve blogged about it at lavidalocavore blog and linked back to here. We could barely do it back then and suffered from malnutrition when we finally came back to the US and got jobs and money.

  4. Cathy S.

    Still reading…
    I just want to point out that in your previous post you pointed out our cultures obsessions with food. Do you not now yourselves have an obsession with your relationship with food? Just something to ponder here as I continue to read.

  5. Kai

    I remember a time when I was an exchange student abroad and I had very-very little money for maybe two weeks, my scholarship money came in a lot later that I´d expected. I ate pasta with oil and made up reasons for not going out with friends.. And I thought the whole time about things I´d eat once I had the money.. Especially fruits and other fresh things…
    The really stupid thing is that the society makes you feel like not having money is an embarrassment… Actually spending too much on unnecessary things should feel like it..

  6. walks far women

    Hats off to you both, with a budget of 200.00 dollers a month one person,1 cat and 2 dogs (chessie) Bay retrivers . this is a plan i must give a go at . i’ll be re-turning to class for the first time in 20 years. I am starting a new stage of life in my early “40”s
    after liveing on and off the streets. I’am grateful for every person ,place,and thing .LIVE ,LOVE ,and LAUGH often. PEACE WALKS FAR WOMEN

  7. Pingback: Wasted Food — Jonathan Bloom on food waste and how it can be avoided » Blog Archive » A Different Dollar Menu

Leave a Reply

