Day Six

 

Seitan strips with broccoli over white rice, with a baked potato on the side

Seitan strips with broccoli over white rice, with a baked potato on the side

Having stayed up too late watching The Queen, I slept right through breakfast time. Big mistake.

I awoke with a minor headache and pains all over. By the time I was ready to start the day there was no point eating breakfast. I’m not sure if this has anything to do with our diet, but by late afternoon I learned the cost of foregoing the most important meal of the day. Hunger pangs made it hard to enjoy taking the dogs to the dog park, and by the time we got home all we could think of doing was making dinner.

I also felt more agitated than usual.

So far I have lost at least four pounds; maybe a touch more. 

Regardless of feeling snippy, I have learned a lot so far. I have come to a conclusion about the size of the portions I usually eat: they’re much too large. In fact, I think I’ve spent my whole life overeating. I’ve had more energy since we started doing this. I have decided that there’s no reason to buy the following processed foods: bread, tortillas, refried beans, and spanish rice. All can be made at home quite easily. There’s little reason to spend lots of money on groceries. If you plan your menu using simple wholesome ingredients you can make a variety of meals (Think about Mexican and Chinese cuisine). Frozen broccoli from the 99 cents store is all stalks and no florets. There’s no reason to buy ketchup, soy sauce or taco sauce; they’re all free at fast food joints. Additionally, I have been drinking more water than ever before and falling asleep faster than usual. 

This eating regiment has proven to me that I can eat less and feel more lively, and that I should be eating foods that don’t come in colorful packages. 

In ending today’s entry I ask that you consider the following quote:

“Great eaters and great sleepers are incapable of anything else that is great.” – Henry IV of France

I hope you’re eating while reading this,

Christopher

Daily Totals:

Lunch: Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich (homemade bread, 2 TBSP Peanut Butter, 1 TBSP Jelly) – $0.36 

Snack: 1 Slice Sourdough Bread -$0.05

Dinner: Homemade Wheat Gluten Steak Strips – $0.20, 1/8 lb. Frozen Broccoli – $0.13, 2 Cups cooked white rice – $0.11, 1 Baked Potato w/ 1 Ketchup Packet (foraged) – $0.10

Desert: 1 TBSP Peanut Butter – $0.05 

Kerri Total: $1.00

Christopher Total: $1.00

Donation Total: $145

NOTE: If you think what we’re doing is interesting, inspiring, or just plain nutty, consider SPONSORING our efforts. Simply enter in an amount, click “update total” and follow the prompting. If you don’t have PayPal, it will let you use a credit card. At the end of the of the month all proceeds will go to the Community Resource Center (here in Encinitas, CA) and/or the ONE campaign. We will post evidence of donations at the end.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Day Six

  1. Joanne

    C&K–

    I think the quote is misused. Henry IV was a monarch surrounded by people of luxury and leisure. You both are hard-working, socially-conscious individuals who can only do more good by being properly nourished. Granted, you do have the luxury of an upper-middle class income, being white, living and working in an affluent area, and having a dual-income-with-no-kids, but you are by no means oh monarch status–and neither are your readers.

    Have you been tracking your vitamins and nutrients? I assume you’re not taking multivitamins or other supplements as that would break the $1 rule, right?

    I applaud your efforts to be socially conscious and responsible while raising awareness, but I do hope this isn’t something you feel everyone should do or that puts you on a moral high ground because you are in a position to do it. I think more posting with this type of multi-layered, self-consciousness and -awareness will add the necessary layer of complexity and rigor to your already important project.

    xo,
    j

  2. Uncle Don

    “There’s no reason to buy ketchup, soy sauce or taco sauce; they’re all free at fast food joints. ”

    Well, guess what? this isn’t true. These condiments aren’t free, they’re for customers of the establishment and if you’re not buying a meal there (which I assume you’re not) you’re stealing. Stop it!

  3. onaclov

    I actually am eating right now, my $.25 bag of Ramen Noodles…lol
    Very interesting project, I would love to try something similar but not sure if I have the discipline for it.

  4. danimo

    I just found this website earlier today through “current_” and I’m quite obsessed. I really should be in bed already but since coming home I’ve been glued to this blog!

    I’m glad you two were able to enjoy a luxurious faux steak and potato dinner on this day! It’s too bad broccoli is too costly unless it’s frozen.:/

    And Uncle Don’s hideously privileged and misconstrued comment makes me want to puke almost as much as having a cold does. Blech!

    ~d a n i m o<3

  5. StrictNon-Conformist

    danimo,

    Uncle Don’s “hideously privileged and misconstrued comment” is actually right on the mark: if you go into a business, take condiments meant for their paying customers, even though “it’s just a minor thing that costs almost nothing” it IS stealing, and if you’re trying to live off of $1/day, unless you get a Wendy’s 99 cent menu item where there’s no tax assessed (or something like that), you simply aren’t going to honestly arrive at that condiment by going in and grabbing one.

    However, if you want to arrive at it honestly, true foraging (as opposed to stealing a minor amount, as documented above) is very doable in practice, but perhaps a bit undignified and potentially really gross:

    Harvest from their garbage dumpsters, garbage cans, or where there’s stuff leftover from customers that didn’t clean off their stuff. Restaurants aren’t legally allowed to restock that stuff anyway, and someone else grabbed it. A lot of restaurant workers throw more condiments (salt, pepper, catchup, mustard, relish etc.) into the hands of customers than they may actually use, just to make sure they’re satisfied for the majority of cases. Well, it seems like a foolish waste to do that, but there it is: how many packets of such condiments are never opened, and thrown away as a result of that?

  6. Pingback: Eating Contests and Home Economics –Astrogirl

Leave a Reply

