Day Five

 

A lemon a day keeps the scurvy away.

A lemon a day keeps the scurvy away.

This is a true story. Several years ago, I was on the phone with my younger sister and she was complaining about some ailment that she was sure was a sign of a serious disease. I told her gently that I thought she might be a bit of a hypochondriac. The next day she called me back and asked, “Kerri, what was that thing you called me?” I said, ” A hypochondriac.” To which she replied, “Yeah, I think I have that.”

 

Today was a long day. I was at school late last night for a meeting with the parents of my debate team, and today I felt sleepy and a bit grumpy all day. I had a bit of a headache that just wouldn’t go away (I am blaming that on Roberto G. who left a comment asking if we would be documenting physical changes or issues that we noted; it is noted). I had a great time in all of my classes, but I have to admit, by fourth period, I was ready to go home.  After school got out, I went to Christopher’s game show audition with him ( I auditioned too! Watch out world, here we come). In the car I felt a bit light headed, so I took a short nap while Christopher drove. I was a bit more energized after that. 

On the way home, I called my mom to tell her how it went. In the midst of our conversation she  told me that I needed to eat fruit so that I would not get scurvy. I assured her that I would not get scurvy, but as soon as I got home I looked it up. It is caused by a deficiency in Vitamin C and it was very common in sailors who were out at sea longer than fruits and vegetables could last (Wikipedia). Apparently, this can be cured by citrus fruit. As I am writing this, I am drinking a glass of water with juice from a foraged lemon. I would hate for my teeth to fall out (especially after all of the money I have put into toothpaste), and this is an issue with scurvy.

My best friend, Nicole, is worried that I might lose too much weight. Typically I don’t weigh myself that often, not because I never worry, mostly because I don’t want to know. We both did a weigh-in on the first day, and I have been checking my weight almost daily and thinking deeply about half pound fluctuations.

Although I am tired, I know the rest of this is in my head. We are paying attention to the way our bodies are reacting because it is a change.  Prior to this project we would have mounds of food on our large dinner plates, but now I look at our meager portions served on our salad plates and it never looks like enough. 

But as I learned today, the power of suggestion is pretty strong. I am going to continue to suggest to myself that eating until I am not hungry is much healthier than eating until I am uncomfortably  full.

Tired of PB&J,

Kerri

 

Daily Totals:

Breakfast: Oatmeal – $0.06, 1 TBSP Peanut Butter on 1/2 piece of bread – $0.10 (only Christopher had PB), 1/3 TBSP of margarine – $0.02

Lunch: 1/2 Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches (homemade bread, 2 TBSP Peanut Butter, 1 TBSP Jelly) – $0.26, 2 Cups popped popcorn – $0.07 (Kerri only)

Dinner: 1.5 Cups Refried Beans – $0.14, 2 Baked Potatoes w/ 1 TBSP Margarine – $0.32

Kerri Total: $0.92

Christopher Total: $0.90

Donation Total: $145

NOTE: If you think what we’re doing is interesting, inspiring, or just plain nutty, consider SPONSORING our efforts. Simply enter in an amount, click “update total” and follow the prompting. If you don’t have PayPal, it will let you use a credit card. At the end of the of the month all proceeds will go to the Community Resource Center (here in Encinitas, CA) and/or the ONE campaign. We will post evidence of donations at the end.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day Five

  1. lynda holeva

    O.k. guys,
    I can’t wait to hear about the auditions! Sounds like you guys had a pretty exciting time. I think you both probably need to spend $1.00 on fruit tomorrow! How ’bout it?
    xoxox
    mom, starting to get a little concerned…

  2. I read about your project in Ode magazine. What a cool challenge (better you than me)!

    Thank you for the lesson on scurvy. I had no idea. ‘Scuse me, I’m going to go eat an orange.

  3. Tracy

    I hear that! Eating till full not till your uncomfortable is something I find daily to be my problem.

Leave a Reply

